FYI / Healing with the Medicine of the Prophet / Health / Herbs / Home Remedies

The Paste of Wisdom & Strength

     I fancy hardbacks, articles and whathaveyou about herbs, natural remedies and all despite their redundancy. Mass amounts of the same (yet delightfully engrossing) info are being produced and distributed every time you turn around. And even though I find most titles and headlines ho hum  “super foods” included – there’s something in me that won’t allow my soul to rest until I pore over each and every passage. I am a self-admitted herb nut.
    
While enjoying the company of one of my admired friends (a book on herbs of course), I came across a chapter highlighting a few health benefits of Ginger. What caught my eye was the title; “The Paste of Wisdom & Strength.” What a heading! This was one of those jaw-dropping, eyes wide open, need a second to catch my breath moments. I was absorbed by the title… so absorbed that I read it over and over again. “The Paste of Wisdom and Strength,”…yes.
    
I sat there deep in thought for a spell. Tons of questions ran through my mind. I had the book right in front of me to satisfy all of my curiosities, yet, I couldn’t break away from an overload of mental acquisitiveness… I simply couldn’t. “How does it taste? When should I take it? And for how long? I wonder if it’s easy to make. I hope I can find all the ingredients.” Yadda, yadda, yadda.
After snapping out of it, I was able to calmly read on…

Paste Ingredients:

Galangal

Galangal

  • 100 grams of ground Ginger – Zanjabeel (زنجبيل)
  • 100 grams of ground Pistachio – Fustuq (فستق)
  • 50 grams of ground Galangal – Khalangal خلانغل) aka Khalanjan
  • 50 grams of ground Black Seed {aka Nigella Sativa/Black Cumin/Kolonji} – Habbatus Sawdaa (حبة السوداء)
  • 50 grams of pure honey -‘Asl (عسل)

Instructions:

Cook the honey in a pot on low heat till warm. Remove the foam, then add the remaining ingredients, stir well until it holds like that of candy (soft taffy). Pack the paste into a Mason jar. Take one spoonful after breakfast and another after dinner daily.

Mason Jar - برطمان زجاج

Mason Jar – برطمان زجاج

 

Note: The best honey is extracted during winter, spring and summer. – Source: At Tibbun Nabawi by Imaam adh Dhahabi.

Sidr Honey

Sidr Honey

 

 
Benefits:
  • strengthens the body
  • treats forgetfulness
  • opens up the talents of the mind
  • strengthens the memory
  • pleases the soul and gives it life
I’m extremely interested in trying this. I plan to give it a go for at least three months before rendering a verdict, In Shaa Allaah. I’ll keep a progress journal, note all changes – whether positive or negative – and blog updates. Should you try it yourself, let me know how it goes.
Enjoy.
Haneefah 

Leave a Reply

