'Arabic / FYI / Life in Jeddah / Uncategorized

Word List #1

Just thought I’d share a few words with you. The list consists of both Fushaa and ‘Aammiyyah. I am not a fan of ‘Arabic slang, however, not knowing it will make things a little difficult on you, especially if you are a new comer. Allaahu Aa’lam. I can’t tell you how many people started their conversation off with “ihna” and I was standing there with the “duh” look on my face trying to figure out what they were talking about. So….here you go.

‘Ashaan – Li-anna: Because

Ihna – Nahnu: We

Badri – Mubakhkhir: Early

Baseet – Easy

*Baseet is used more than sahl.*

Bazoora – Katheer: A lot, many, etc.

Boofiyah – A strange little sandwich (egg, shrimp, falafel, etc.) often stuffed with french fries topped with cucumbers, mayo, ketchup and tomatoes.

Ta-akhkhir – Muta-akhkhir: Late

Hurmah – Imra-ah: Woman

Khalli – Leave

  • Ex: Khallihaa – Leave her/it alone.

*The locals use “seebi” just as much as “khalli.”

Dubb/Dubbah – Sameen/sameenah: Fat

*Dubb actually means “bear.” I cracked up when I first learned this one…lol.

Raahat – Dhahabat: She went

Shaatir/Shaatirah – Good boy/girl

Shantah – Haqeebah: Handbag

I am not an expert, so send corrections here and I’ll update the list, In Shaa Allaah.

6 thoughts on “Word List #1

  1. dahin (daheen)/[fusha: al ‘an] – now

    It took me a long time to figure that one out.

    They also seem to pronounce words differently. For example I’d say bananas ‘mauz’ but they say ‘mooz/mouz’…or ‘naum’ (sleep) but they say ‘noom/noum’
    And of course saying g instead of q. So words like baqalah are pronounced bagala.

  2. as salaamu alaikum wa Rahmatullah,

    ukhti, jazakallahuKhayr,

    this list is a great help, Masha’Allah. Please do more…….Pleaseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

  3. Wa ‘alaikumus salaam wa rahmatullaahi wa barakaatuh.

    Dahin – It took me months to understand this word as well. And yes, some pronounce words differently than others.

    Kida – Lol @ Rafia…from driving to cooking, yes everything is kida/zay kida!

    Ruqayyah, I will try to be consistent with posting 10 words per week In Shaa Allaah. Word List #2 is already waiting in my rough drafts :)

    More words…

    Baarakallaahu feekunna.

    Haneefah

  4. These sound like Masri words, lol! Masrieen use all of those except bazoora, boofiyah, hurmah (they say hareem) and dubba (they say melyan – filled in; or tikheen – thick). Although I’m sure there’s a big difference in the pronounciation between the 2 countries.

    I absolutely LOVE arabic, in all its forms mashaa Allaah!

    Great list sister :)

Leave a Reply

