All About Saudi / FYI / Life in Jeddah

True or False?: It Never Gets Cold in Jeddah

Jeddah after the RainAs salaamu ‘alaikum wa rahmatullaahi wa barakaatuh. Before making Hijrah I gave away coats, boots, and most of our heavy clothing thinking that we would not need them anymore. Subhaanallaah, I was sadly mistaken. It does get chilly here during the winter, especially if you are in places like Madeenah, Taa-if, and Tabook.

The winds are whipping and howling after Fajr. You won’t need a goose-feathered “First Down” in Jeddah, but something nice with a lining to keep you snug will do In Shaa Allaah. I wear a shoulder jilbaab and skirt underneath my overhead and chenille shaw over that, so I am ok when I go out.
In Shaa Allaah someone outside of Jeddah can better inform you of what to expect in other cities. I visited Madeenah last winter, and the wind almost knocked me sideways. It gets much colder there.
The afternoons in Jeddah are ok…the children should be alright in light jackets. Just dress them a little heavier for night time if you plan to go out. The locals who can’t tolerate chilly weather wear big, thick coats with giant hoods, (this was a strange sight for me when I first got here), while others wear regular jackets and hoodies. Some walk around in their normal clothing (a thawb) made of heavier cotton. To each his own.
I did not wear any heavy clothing last winter. I guess I am like the locals now because I have to dress heavier and I find myself saying “I’m cold!” often. I almost turned the stove on one night just to heat up the place. My Canadian hubby on the other hand finds the winter weather just peachy. The homes don’t come equipped with heating systems, Allaahu Aa’lam. I don’t recall seeing any.
If you do decide to give away your winter clothing to make traveling lighter and easier, then Alhamdulillaah, you can purchase all these things here at reasonable prices. I hope this bit of info helps.
Haneefah

2 thoughts on “True or False?: It Never Gets Cold in Jeddah

  1. As Salaamu Alaiki…this is teyahnnah from chester…I don’t know if your remember me but i wanted to know what do you suggest bringing from the states if intending to come to the middle east?

  2. Wa ‘alaikis salaamu wa rahmatullaahi wa barakaatuh. Yes ukhtee I remember very well. How have you been? In Shaa Allaah I need a bit of time to prepare a list.

    Give your mother and the sisters back home salaam for me In Shaa Allaah.

    Haneefah

Leave a Reply

