Life in Jeddah / What's Going on in the Gulf?

42 thoughts on “Part 1: Life in Jeddah FAQ

  1. As Salaamu Alaikum Wa Rahmatullahi,

    How do one get in Jeddah? How do you qualified. I now living in Egypt and would love to make hijrah there, insha’Allah. So, how do i get started?

  2. AsSalaam Alaykum! I really enjoy the information you share with us. It helps us put away questions and fears so we can get ready for our own trips,Allumhumdullallah!! May ALLAH, bless you and your family in all that do and all that you attempt to do!Ameen!!
    AsSalaam Alaykum!
    Aqueelah

  3. As salaamu ‘alaikum wa rahmatullaahi wa barakaatuh. In Shaa Allaah I will post some info on ways to come. May Allaah make it easy for you and your family ukhtee Ruqayyah, aameen.

    I appreciate your du’aa ukhtee Aqueelah, wa jazaakillaahu khairaan.

    I forgot to mention something about the ATM cards, if you have an account with Wachovia, you must have the VISA PLUS logo, not just the PLUS logo.

    Haneefah

  4. as salamualaikum

    my husband and i are interested in making hijrah. we think about it a lot. i wanted to how much would u have to save in order to make hijrah? my husband also wanted to know about teaching. what program would be best for him to study in order to teach overseas? any info u can give would be greatly appreciated.

    as salamualaikum
    yaminah

  5. As salaamu ‘alaikum wa rahmatullaahi wa barakaatuh. Ukhtee Yaminah, how big is your family? In Shaa Allaah I can give you an estimate based on that and Allaah Knows Best.

    Bi idhnillaah, I will ask my zawj about employment opportunities, etc. for you and ukht Ruqayyah. He can answer better than I can since I do not work.

    Ukhtee Qadirah, Tabaarakallaah your comment touched me. In Shaa Allaah I’ll send you some info as well. May Allaah bless you in that.

    Uhibbukunna fillaah.

    Haneefah

  6. As Salaamu alaikum wa Rahmatullahi wa Barakatuh,

    Allahu Akbar! I was sent an email containing your diary entries and it is what I have been looking for. Al-hamdullilah. My husband and I have made our intention to perform Hajj for the very first time, with the permission of Allahu ta’ala this year. I would like to know how to get started if you can provide any information to us I would be grateful for it. Insha Allah ta’ala.

    I really enjoyed reading about life in Jedda and now that I have a way to be informed of life over there from the view of someone who has lived in the West I plan to visit the diaries on a regular basis. Insha Allah ta’ala.

    May Allah ta’ala reward you for providing us with such beneficial information. Ameen.

    Love,
    Qadirah

  7. Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wabarakatuhu
    How r u doing ukhti?
    Im ummhatim from india and mashaallaah I read almost all ur mails
    And masha’Allaah all ur mails have been beneficial Alhamdulillah. May Allaah reward you immensely ameen
    Ive written to you personally but I think u haven’t recvd it no issues Insha’Allah may Allaah make it easy for all of us ameen
    Okay ukhti now after reading all ur posts and esp ur blog on word press I wanted 2 discuss some things with u Insha’Allah if u don’t mind Insha’Allah
    Ukhti im 20yrs old and im married Alhamdulillah and have 4mth old ibn. My zawj and I got married only coz we both want 2 study and shift soon 2 a Muslim land. First it was damaaj but now we want 2 shift soon 2 Saudi Insha’Allah
    My zawj is desperately looking for a job. He is looking in IT/Education/Marketing.
    He has an experience in all the fields Alhamdulillah and its our dream for our children to be brought up in a muslim land. India is not the same and subhanallah the fitna is 2 much these days
    So its my zawj,my ummi,my ibn and myself wanting 2 shift there inshaallaah. My husband speaks to sheikh maliki many times and it’s our dream that our kids study under sheikh Rabee/sheikh fawzaan/ and all the scholars may Allaah preserve, protect each one of them ameen.
    So pls let me know ukhti how can you help me out Insha’Allah. Do write 2 me.

    May Allaah grant you and ur family jannah al firdaus ameen
    Wassalamualaikum warahmatullahi wabarakatuhu ummhatim bint abdul latif,Bangalore,india

  8. As salamualaikum

    I currently have a family size of 5. We want to get out of this country to study so badly. I’ve been trying to look for an ESL course or something that my husband can take. But he hears that majority of the time, you need a degree because if they decided to fire you for any reason, its hard to find a job and therefore you would have to leave. He wants to be able to teach overseas and stay oversead instead of coming back to earn more money. Would you or your husband have any info to help us out.

    p.s. my husband and i really like your husband’s blog :) mashaAllah

    as salamualaikum

  9. As salaamu ‘alaikum wa rahmatullaahi wa barakaatuh.

    Umm Haatim, hayyaakillaah. I have a friend from India who may be able to help you. Alhamdulillaah her husband works in the computer field here in Jeddah. In Shaa Allaah I will ask her to assist you and post her reply as soon as I can.

    Ukhtee Yaminah…your zawj can get hired with just an ESL cert, but it’s better to have a degree. Employers will talk about degrees, degrees degrees, but when they are short staffed (and they’re almost always are), they will hire you with just an ESL cert. I’ll Email you some info In Shaa Allaah.

    How much to save to make Hijrah? It depends on the size of your family, your lifestyle, etc.. Let me go back and thumb through our expenditures to give you all some estimates In Shaa Allaah.

    Hajj, ukhtee Qadirah, I can send you books on Hajj in the mail if you need them…let me know.

    Ukhtee Ruqayyah, my neighbor is from Misr. Let me talk to her for you In Shaa Allaah. She has a medical background and may know of some job openings.

    Haneefah

  10. As salamualaikum

    Thank you so much for responding to my post. InshaAllah whatever information you may have will be greatly appreciated. May Allah reward you with the best in this life and the next, Ameen

    Yaminah

    As salamualaikum

  11. assalamualaikum warahmatullahi wabarakatuhu
    Jazakallaah Khair ukhti Haneefa for replying
    May Allaah reward u for answering all the sisters’ queries inspite of ur busy schedule ameen
    do let me know abt the sister InshaAllaah

    takecare ukhti
    wassalamualaikum warahmatullahi wabarakatuhu
    UmmHatim

  12. as salaamu alayki
    Your post has given me some great information. May Allah reward you Ameen. I wanted to know if you can contact me via email I had some other questions that i would like to ask you personally.

    Aaishah ummzhane
    Philly, pa

  13. hello friends.

    i love jeddah because its a home town place.its like our house.lots of good places are there to see and its a cool place anywhere in the world we can never get.there are restaurants where we have a special dining such as al baik.if u just go in front of that we will get the smel of the fried chicken.so i like jeddah and we cant miss the place.

  14. hi all, plz can i live with 4500 ryale per month in jeddah,how is the living standar there?how much an appartement rent fees there?thank u

  15. $4,500 SAR per mo. is ok if you are single and don’t require much.

    Rent – it depends on your needs, lifestyle, family size, etc.
    The standard of living is good, Alhamdulillaah.

    In the news… “Saudi real estate companies are being forced to cut the sale price of new apartments and villas by 12 percent as a result of the global economic downturn.” – SaudiGazette.com and ArabianBusiness.com respectively.

  16. Assalam Alaikum wa Ramatullahi wa Barakatuh

    I would like to know sister where we can avail of a house and lot near the jeddah airport or any residential house, my son is a saudi citizen and where planning to buy a house in jeddah.

    Hoping to received your reply soonest at your convenience.

    Allah Hafiz,

    Amna Shakil

  17. Assalamu Aliykum wa rahmatullah,

    Jazakillah Khair for the information. Me and my husband will be moving to Jeddah this June inshaAllah. It would be nice to meet you sister who are living out there already. Do you live in a compound? Which ones are the most ‘practising’ ones? Is it better to live in a non-compound? Any help will be appreciated inshaAllah.

    Jazakillah Khair

    Umm Aiymaan

  18. SAR 4,500 is not enough if you wish to save. it is enough to live though.

    anything below 8,000 riyals will make you live a poor mans’ life. Otherwise every riyal will feel like a huge fortune and zero will be saved end of every month. 8,000 riyals and above per month, and you might have a chance to lead a modest life with healthy savings.

    Jeddah doesn’t run according to the economic law of supply and demand. rents are skyrocketing, prices are almost similar to those in Dubai and Qatar. Land lords do not care if they are unable to have their rooms rented out even if it takes more than 10-15 years.

  19. my fiance is now working at jeddah after 2 years He will be coming to the Philippines and we will get married..can I go with him back in Jeddah..is their are rules and restrictions allowing wife of an overseas workers to go with theri husbands living in jeddah? hope you can shed me some insights…

  20. Assalamu alaikum wa rahmatulahi wa barakatu Haneefah,
    ZjazakAllahu ghairan for your information, but I am looking for some more. My family and I want to make hijra and I have been offered a job in Jeddah. The school asked me to tell them what I want for a payd packadge, but I have really no idea what I can ask. So I really like to know:

    1. What would be a normal salary for a speech therapist taking a husband and 4 daughters with me, insja Allah.

    2. What about the costs of housing (3 bedroom), can I ask them for a house, or a allowance for the rent?

    3. And can I ask for school allowance for my daughters, if so, how much, what would be the cost of schools in Jeddah?

    Insja Allah you can help me with this questions and put in a good packadge, insja Allah.

    ZjazakAllahu gjairan for your help, injsa Allah.

    Your sister in Islam, Monique/Maryam oem Donya from Holland.

  21. Wa alaikumus salam wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh.
    Just came acroos your blog, Mashallah you have posted some very usefull information.And some very intresting points have been said. Although ive been here for two years, still taking time to adjust to things, But alhamdulillah settling in well.
    Btw was just wondering if you have any information on good internationl schools in Jeddah? Any info will be greatly appreciated.
    Jazakallah
    Fatz

  22. Assalamu alaikum wa rahmatulahi wa barakatu dear sister Haneefah,

    Sorry I did not react earlier, I was just waiting for your response. Did you find the time yet to answer my questions? ZjazakAllahu ghairan for your efforts, Monique/Maryam oem Donya from Holland.

  23. Wa ‘alaikumus salaam wa rahmatullaahi wa barakaatuh.

    Oem Donya, (loving the name Donya by the way – smiles), I don’t know what a speech therapist makes. Take a look at Pay Scale, it’ll give you an idea of what to ask for. You can browse other web sites for more comparisons.

    Housing: You most certainly can ask for housing or for a stipend (go with the stipend and pick out your own place). A three bedroom apt. will run you anywhere between 20 – 30,000 SAR per year (more or less depending on amenities).

    School Allowance: Sorry, I can’t answer this question. Will your children attend the school in which you are to teach, or will they go elsewhere? Most international schools will put a dent in your pocket. The tahfeeth schools are much cheaper. I will post some info tonight for you and ukht Fatima…we’re on crunch time (school starts in 10 days).

    Fatima, jazaakillaahu khairan. Just take it one day at a time. I’ve been here for a little over three years and am still feeling my way around. I still ask questions, jot down street names, landmarks and all. It’ll get easier In Shaa Allaah. Contact me anytime if you need help.

    Haneefah

  24. assalamualaikum ukhti

    Thank You for your very informative website…I ma new in JEddah and have been feeling rather frustrated of late searching for quraan schools for my daughter. Alhamdulillah im very pleased to read ur blog. Barakallahu feeki

  25. Wa ‘alaikumus salaam wa rahmatullaahi wa barakaatuh. Wa feeki baarakallaah yaa ukht Fatima. If you need help narrowing things down in regards to Quraan schools, see the top right hand corner of the blog for the # of the Tahfeeth Headquarters, In Shaa Allaah.

    @ Luna, thank you for your input.

  26. As Salam Wa Alaikum. I’m trying to make Hijrah to Saudi, but I don’t know the requirements or how to get started. Can you please give me some information? Like can I just buy a ticket and stay and find a job when I get there? Or do I have to get hired first? How do I go about get there?

  27. SallamuAllaikum Sister,
    May Allah reward for this blog. I have been reading it from the time I found out we would be relocating to now, day 25 in Jeddah. :)
    Have found school for kids but nothing for me yet. InshaAllah I hope to learn Arabic first so I was wondering if you have any suggestions on where to go for classes.

  28. Wa ‘alaikumus salaam wa rahmatullaahi wa barkaatuh akhawaat. Forgive me, I can’t reply in full at the moment, but will as soon as I am able.

    Baarakallaahu feekumaa.

  29. Salam Alaikoum Warahmatoulah Wabarakatouh Umm Asma,

    Masha Allah Tabarakallah, I am very pleased to have found your blog. You answered so many of my questions.. Insha Allah we are due to arrive in 3 weeks time. I will be arriving as a teacher, whereas my zawj will be on an umrah visa. Insha Allah we are praying for not only an extension but, I should be able to sponsor him upon arrival.. could you kindly give us any tips if any.. and it would be great to have your email address, for I would love to keep in touch and insha Allah meet once we settle. May Allah facilitate and rectify our affairs, amin. Your sister fillah

    UmmHamza

  30. Assalamu alaiki wa rahmatulahi wa barakatu sister Haneefah,

    Is has been a long time (since oct. 2009, almost one and a half year ago, subhan Allah!) that I spook you here. And things are, unfortunatly, still the same regarding hijra, al hamdulilah alla kulli hal. I want you to tell the situation and pray to Allah that you have any tips or otherwise to help us get out of bilaad-ul kufr.

    The centre that is still willing to get me a job is Hope for Eceptional needs, a centre for children with special (educational) needs. They are a not-for-profit organisation, so to hire people they are dependent on the government to give them work permits/visas. Because I am a woman it is very difficult for them to get me into the country. I want to get my husbands and 4 daughters (who now are 15,13, 11 and almost 6 years old). My husband does not have a high qulified job or diploma’s, but is skilled in woring with machines as a process operator.

    Do you have any tips or so to make me get into Jeddah to live and work there with my family. Because of the ages of my daughters I am in a hurry to move out of Hlland, because this corrupt society here is getting there hands more and more on them, may Allah protect them, ameen.

    BarakAllahu fieki!

    Your sister in Islam, Monique/Maryam Umm Donya.

  31. Wa ‘alaikumus salaam wa rahmatullaahi wa barakaatuh.

    Akhawaat, join Muhaajir & Muhaajiraat fil Khaleej to network with other sisters regarding hijrah. I’m slowly making changes to the blog and most hijrah-related articles will move to a stagnant FYI site.

    Umm Biyamin – Yes, you have to get hired first unless Allaah opens up another way for you to come (such as marriage, attending one of the universities, etc).

    Umm Hamza, I’ll contact you very soon In Shaa Allaah.

    Hala – I’m building a special page for the blog with specifics on classes. I must confirm the info first so please have sabr with me.

    Oum Donya, I see job listings that may suit your husband all the time here. You may want to apply to other schools dear ukhtee. I’ll contact you directly In Shaa Allaah. May Allaah protect you and yours, aameen.

    Wa feekunna baarakallaah.

  32. Assalaamu alayki wa rahmatullah uhkti

    I am glad that i have found this website….still discovering Alhamdulilah!

    Sister, i am a British citizen and my husband is a German citizen, we currently live in Germany and inshAllaah want to make hjrah very soon..inshAllaah it works out this time as we went to Egypt for two years but ended up coming back due to finances summer gone :((. I was able to work as a kindergarten teacher though the pay was not great but ok for Egypt but my husband found it difficult as his english is not all that great. which meant he would have to travel back and fourth and its not ideal.

    He has currently gone back to college and wishs to improve his English in order to be employed in the land of the muslims (as an english teacher) he has super german lang skills however no qualifications…i wanted to ask once he finishs his college which will take over two years allahu alam..would it be worth doing a CELTA course then moving? how is the pay for that in ksa (or jeddah? i cannot stand the thought of being here for 6 years for him to do a degree also. He is turning 26 next month and i am 23.
    Feeling really deppressed Allahul must3aan

    Please help!!

    BarakAllaahu feeki

    asalamu alayki

  33. Assalamu alaiki wa rahmatulahi wa barakatu Haneefa,

    I did not get to see your reply untill today, al hamdulilah. The link you typed for jobs for my husband does not work anymore. Can you type the name of the site so I can look for a job for my husband, insja Allah?

    BarakAllahu fieki!!!!

    Umm Donya.

  34. Wa ‘alaikumus salaam wa rahmatullaahi wa barakaatuh. Wa feekunna baarakallaah.

    Umm ‘Abdullaah – I need time to get answers for you, In Shaa Allaah. Perhaps you’ll receive a quicker reply via Muhaajir, Hijra.net, Women of Arabia or Muhaajiraat fil Khaleej.

    Umm Donya – Here’s the link ukhtee.

    Please join the E-groups/Forum that I’ve listed. I’m changing the theme of the blog. Questions and threads regarding jobs, etc., will no longer be discussed. I don’t work. My knowledge and resources are limited. I can only direct you to others better equipped to assist you.

    I hope it works out sisters.

    With love for Allaah’s Sake.
    Haneefah

  35. assalam i have a family member who is moving to jeddah in order to teach. his wife is a non muslim. does she have to observe the viel if she lives there? and what type of clothes should she wear?

  36. The gov. states (not verbatim) that she should don an abaa-a. She’s not required to cover her hair, however, it is better that she does out of respect for Al Islaam, local customs and traditions. It wards of negative attention. Allaah Knows Best.

    Was salaamu ‘alaikum wa rahmatullaah.

Leave a Reply

