'Arabic / FYI / Girls Only / Seeking Knowledge

Sisterly Advice Regarding Ummul Quraa University

As salaamu ‘alaikum wa rahmatullaahi wa barakaatuh. I’ve sought permission to share some sister to sister advice concerning Ummul Quraa University. We’d like to stress that our sister in the deen is not a representative for the university. Her answers are based off of what she knows as a current student. Her answers were not verified by any faculty member of the school. Ummul Quraa’s rules and regulations are subject to change.  May Allaah bless her and her family in their studies and allow them to be a benefit to the Ummah, aameen.
An excerpt regarding the permissibility of sisters “travelling” from Jeddah to Makkah is forthcoming. I hope this is of some benefit to you In Shaa Allaah.
Haneefah
BTW, the questioner is not me (smiles)….really – it’s not.


Questioner: Can I live in Jeddah with my mahram and still attend the school? 
Sure. There are a lot of students who travel back and forth to the University from Jeddah. There is even a group of students from the Language Institute who all live in Jeddah with their families (their parents) and they carpool together everyday.


 

Questioner: Overall, how much would you recommend Umm Al-Qura and how do you like going there?

 

 

Alhamdulillah, the University for me has been a beautiful experience. It is, no doubt, A LOT of work, and is very challenging. The Language Institute here is thought to be the most challenging in the Kingdom. I recommend Umm Al Qura to anyone who has the capability and the urge to be a student of knowledge. The life of a student isn’t for everyone. There have been many families who’ve started, but for different reasons were’nt able to finish. There have been many students who’ve failed for various reasons. The Language Institute doesn’t start from “alif baa”. A potential student should come into the institute and at least know how to read ‘Arabic- even if its a slow pace. The curriculum is not impossible, but it definitely takes hard work.

 

Questioner:  How far is it from the Haram?

 

 

The school is in a section of Makkah called Az-Zaahir. It’s about 5-7 mins away (by car) from the Haram on a normal day.

 


 

 

Questioner:  Jazakum Allahu khayran, mashaAllah very thorough. I just want to clarify my mahram: I live in the United States but my grandfather and my materal uncles live in Jeddah and inshaAllah I am going to live with them. Will this be acceptable?

 

That’s fine maa shaa Allah. The only question would be would you have an iqaamah (residency) through your relatives, or would you want an iqaamah from the school? It might be to your advantage to have one through your relatives to start out with, then switch over to the school. Maybe you should look into seeing if they can add you onto theirs…that might be quicker than waiting for the school..especially since your mahram wouldn’t be attending with you. Wallahu ‘Alam.

Questioner:  The application process: 

You can go to Bakkah.net they have everything you need to know. If you don’t have 1 of the required documents they won’t accept your application plain and simple. They won’t even consider it beacuse it’s incomplete. You have to straighten out your situation before applying.

 

 

 

 


Questioner: After the Language Institute, does a student automatically get accepted into the Islamic Sciences Department? So they have an Uloom al-Hadeeth major/school? Barak Allahu feekum.

 

 

No, after the language program only a selected few are accepted into the actual Univeristy. 1) You have to have an accumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher- nothing less than mumtaaz (some students have been accepted w/an overall jayd jiddan), 2) your mahram has to still be present, 3) you also have to take an entrance exam. There are other rules that apply but these 3 seem to be the most important as far as women are concerned from what I’ve seen, Wallahu Alam. The University does have a Kitaab was Sunnah department, in which Uloomul Hadeeth is studied in depth.
Sahar Gordon
Sharee’ah Student- Umm Al-Qura University
Makkah, KSA

 

 

27 thoughts on “Sisterly Advice Regarding Ummul Quraa University

  1. AsSalamu aleykum wa rahmatulLahi wa barakatuHu.

    I live in Ottawa. I don’t know any salafi here yet. I’d like to know is there any other school or university in any Arabic country for females to study religion without any age limit (with mahram)?

    JazakALLAHu khayran.

    AsSalamu aleykum wa RahmatuLlahi wa barakatuHu

  2. Wa ‘alaikumus salaamu wa rahmatullaahi wa barakaatuh. Schools/universities: Let me gather some links for you ukhtee, bi idhnillaah. I’ll post some info when I can.

    As for Ottawa, I have a friend there. I will call her and ask her to contact you In Shaa Allaah.

    Haneefah

  3. Assalaamu alaikum wa rahmatullah sister,

    Jazakillaahu khayr for maintaining this informative site. It’s absolultely heartwarming that sisters who haven’t met each other are helping each other to gain the pleasure of Allah.

    I was wondering: women can work in Saudi without a mahram (i.e. as nurses, doctors, etc) – therefore, can they also study in a Saudi University (say umm al-Qurra or any other) without a Mahram?

    I would greatly appreciate an answer :). And May Allah reward you for all your help.

  4. Salam alayk, I was searching for the ways to enter Ummul Qura for 2 years but what I found just the failures in the end. I live in Malaysia ( Asian ) and really want to enter dat university. I have downloaded the application form in bakkah.net but it was for year 2004 ( if im not mistaken ). Btw, I’m glad if I can seek for a guide or naseehah from their students. Fyi, Im a musleem male.

    Wasalam

  5. As salaamu ‘alaikum. Please visit Ummul Quraa’s official web site.
    Click here: http://www.uqu.edu.sa/english/index.php

    Desert Diaries is simply a blog set up to share personal hijrah stories and related info. I don’t work for Ummul Quraa, I don’t attend the university and I can’t help anyone register except by directing you to the following telephone # and E-mail addresses.

    0096625501000

    التحويلة : 6274

    info@uqu.edu.sa

    personel@uqu.edu.sa

    dadregis@uqu.edu.sa

  6. assalamu alaikum, in the name of allah the entirely merciful, the especially merciful.i am fahima, indian nationality residing in jeddah since 8 years and this year i have passed higher secondary school (12th). i secured highest mark in the kingdom in arabic subject.the other subjects are physics, chemistry, biology & english.my childhood ambition is to study in ummul qura university to learn arabic language, quran&hadeeth.and later to preach islam back home in my country.my father got the application form from the university filled up with all essential requirments including 3 recommondation letter from various islamic organisation and approched the concern.but they were not even ready to see my application and they just told asper the new rule it is impossible to join without maharam.since i neither have any brother nor a husband as an applicant or a student.when i heared from my father that i cannot join the university i broke into tears and it was a great frustration for me.there is nobody to look after me in my country and the admissions are over in all the universities so i lost one precious year waiting for ummal qura. so please suggest a solution for my problem . if it is not possible for me to study there please suggest any other islamic university where i can study arabic through english . jazakallahu khairan .

  7. Wa ‘alaikumus salaam wa rahmatullaahi wa barakaatuh. Fahima, I was happy for you in regards to your academic achievements, – Allaahumma baarik ‘alaiki, and sad for you at the same time. I honestly don’t know what to tell you. In Shaa Allaah, if you don’t mind, I’d like to ask someone I know about alternatives. I’ll contact you when I have something.

    Western Muslimah – Laa you can’t attend Ummul Quraa unless your mahram is enrolled. Jazaakillaahu khairan for your du’aa. May Allaah make the khair easy for you to obtain.

    Khadijah – Have you ever considered going to Yemen?

    Baarakallaahu feekunna akhawaat.

    Haneefah

  8. salaam my name is hamdi and i am a girl by the way many people mistaken me for a boy
    i am currently living in Australia and i wanted to enroll in the umul qura uni
    but i have no mahram studying there i want to learn the arabic language and hadith and fiqh
    i have relatives living in jeddah and mecca but my dad can bring me to mecca since i need a mahram to travel i am just finishing yr 12 secoundary and i have finished 6 juz of quran by memorizing from surah nas -surah zumar and i really would like to attend the uni
    what are my chances of entering umul qura
    can you please advice me on what should i do

  9. Al salaamu alayk,

    Sister Fahima. Your and my story are very similar, except for the fact that I do not reside in KSA. I am also from India. However, my grandfather’s brother (my shari’i mahram) lives in Makkah. I also applied to the Arabic Language Institute but this rule has just come in that the Mahram has to be a student or applicant to the University. I was also quite disappointed.

    But, sis do not lose heart. Have you heard of the International Islamic University, Malaysia? It is the sister branch of International Islamic Universities Madinah, Cairo, Dhaka and Islamabad. All these universities are excellent. But, the Malaysia one is specially upcoming alhamduliAllah.

    All Praises be to Allah, I have recently been accepted there and start my studies in December. Maybe sister, u can consider applying there or to any of the other places I mentioned?

    You may contact me for further information at. I might, Allah Willing, be able to help.

    May Allah keep our intentions pure and help us to attain His Pleasure, which is afterall, the ultimate goal.

    Also, Sis Haneefah, may Allah reward you immensely for your efforts and love you the way you love your brothers and sisters in Islam. It is heart warming to see you wanting to help apparent strangers so warmly and wilfully.

    Always continue this way and may Allah help you the way you help others.

    Haneefah, maybe Sis fahima will not see this message. Could you forward it to her email address, just in case? Jazak Allah khayr

    Wassalam alaykum wa rehmatullahi

  10. asalaam alaikum warahmatul
    am a married woman ghana. i wanted to be a medical doctor to assist muslim women who have to be attended to by male doctors unfortunately i did not make .i could have gone into nursing but ican not wear the uniform because i cannot expose my self . fortunately i married a God fearing man who intend to help me in this course if i can make it in islamic countries .not long ago he came across ummul qura and brought the news home, he also wanted to reaad islamic studies to help him in his dawa. so how easily will it be for me and my husband to make especially when we are both university graduate iin science and agric respectively

  11. Salam’alaykum

    im from france and i want to know if there is french sister in K.S.A,and if the programm in um al qura is possible in french language?

    barakAllahufiki oukhty for your blog machAllah

  12. assalamalaikom..i’m nur.would much appreciate if in any way,anyone here could assist me locate a dr.asma’abdullah alfadaq of the jameah ummul qura’makkah.i am not sure if she’s still a member of staff of the uni,though.would appreciate her email.2 other ukhth who were students of the uni,ukhty zainab umar alfadaq n ukhty naseera stambouli, too,are whom am looking forward to get in touch with.
    jazakAllahu khairan jaza..

  13. Assalamu Aalaicum Warehmatullahi Wabarakatuhu my Dear sister!
    I want to study in Ummul Qurra University.I lived in Pakistan with my Parents.I am unmarried and i want to study in this university.Can i apply in this university.Plz tell me

  14. assalaamoalaikum
    i want to syudy in ummul qurra uni…. i live in pakistan..can i study in this uni without a mahram.. i have done graduation in islamic studies

  15. Assalam alikum, I am a student at the Louisiana State University in the U.S. I know how to read Arabic, but might have trouble understanding all Arabic advanced words. Does the university explain somethings in English, so I can be able to translate it when teaching others. I would like to come study there with my brother. Is that okay? and if I get to visit the university in the summer, will I have time to apply for the fall? Thank you.

  16. Salaamu Alykum warahmatullahi

    Barakaahu fiikum, Jazakkahu kheyran kathiiraa ukhtifillah

    I would ask you sisters.
    What makes it easy to be accepted in the University?? Does the university choose specific people?? Or is it just a lucky chance.
    Would it have impact if you are a haafidah or memorized different kitaabs and have certificats.

    Inhsa ALLAH hope I didn’t burden you with to much questions.

    Barakaahu fiikum.

    Ukhti fillah, Firdawsa

  17. assalamualaikum,

    i have one question ,now i’m having my degree study in faculty of arts under department of arabic language and literature at university of jordan ,amman ,jordan. can i continue my study at ummull qura university ? now i,m in the second year …?

  18. maasha’ALLAH.! lets all strive for what is good. may we all see each other at umul qura!!! ALLAHUMMA AMEEN!!!

  19. assaalamu alaikom! my sister and I really want to be enter umul quraa! we are from philippines.. where can we be able apply to enter the said university??

  20. have any other university in soudi arab where girls can study without mahram? please give me reply

  21. Wa ‘alaikumus salaam wa rahmatullaahi wa barakaatuh.

    Umm Amjad ~ I don’t know if the program is taught in French, Allaahu Aa’lam. Please call and talk to someone in admissions.

    Munaya, Hira and Fatimah: Click here for the latest application.

    Nyema & Amna ~ Female applicants should have a mahram who is either a current student or applicant himself. I don’t have any info regarding admissions/timeframes. Allaahu Aa’lam.

    *Does the university explain some things in English?* – If you get accepted, you will be taught the ‘Arabic language.

    Firdawsa ~ If you are a haafithah and have memorized different books, etc., have it mentioned in your letter of recommendation (written by someone else of course). Click here for more tips.

    Ema, I will add a list of female colleges/universities to my links section later on today In Shaa Allaah. In the meantime, search the blog for info regarding Effat College.

    *Can I continue my studies at Ummul Quraa?* – Allaahu Aa’lam. Please see UQ’s web site regarding transfer students.

    I’m going to close off comments for this thread In Shaa Allaah. I hope you all succeed in seeking knowledge for Allaah’s Sake. Billaahit tawfeeq.

    Haneefah

Comments are closed.